When an asset isn't relevant anymore you may want to remove it from your library to prevent accidental use of it. Instead of removing access or moving the asset to trash, the best option may be to archive it!
The archive works much the same as trash with a couple of key differences:
- Archived assets can only be viewed. You can not download, edit, or work with archived assets in any way. The only options for archived assets are restoring from archive, and removing permanently.
- Assets restored from the archive will be available in the tab they were archived from (Library/Uploaded/Trash) 24 hours after restoring them. Administrators can choose to receive notifications whenever assets are unarchived.
- Assets stored in the archive have a reduced impact on your storage quota. This is to encourage archiving instead of moving to trash or working with custom folders / access. Archived assets only count for roughly 50% of their actual size when calculating your current storage.
Assets that have been restored will still be found under the archive tab with a fading effect on their thumbnails during the 24 hour restoration waiting period.
You'll find the archive option under the "more" menu in your toolbar. When you archive something, you will first have to unpublish any published assets. Before the assets are archived, you also have to confirm the 24 hour waiting period if you eventually decide to un-archive the assets.
- Mark the media you want to archive
- Click on the More button in above panel
- Click on Archive
- Click on Confirm